"The Art of Exile: Paintings by German-Jewish Refugees"

(Jun. 27-Dec. 31) — Drawn from the art collection of the Leo Baeck Institute – New York | Berlin (LBI), this exhibit presents paintings created in exile by German-speaking Jews and other targets of Nazi persecution. Showcasing a range of painting styles from the 20th century, it tells the stories of creative individuals uprooted from their homelands, who tried to rebuild their life and career in new lands.

Hours: Sunday, 11:00am – 5:00pm; Monday and Wednesday, 9:30am – 8:00pm; Tuesday and Thursday, 9:30am – 5:00pm.

Erev Rosh Hashana, Sunday, September 29, 2019 — Closing at 2pm
Rosh Hashana First Day, Monday, September 30, 2019 — Closed
Rosh Hashana Second Day, Tuesday, October 01, 2019 — Closed
Erev Yom Kippur, Tuesday, October 08, 2019 — Closed at 2pm
Yom Kippur, Wednesday, October 09, 2019 — Closed
Erev Sukkot, Sunday, October 13, 2019 — Closed at 2pm
Sukkot First Day, Monday, October 14, 2019 — Closed
Sukkot Second Day, Tuesday, October 15, 2019 — Closed
Erev Shemini Atzeret, Sunday, October 20, 2019 — Closed at 2pm
Shemini Atzeret, Monday, October 21, 2019 — Closed
Simchat Torah, Tuesday, October 22, 2019 — Closed
Thanksgiving Eve, Wednesday, November 27, 2019 — Closed at 2pm
Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 28, 2019 — Closed
Day after Thanksgiving, Friday, November 29, 2019 — Closed
Christmas Eve, Tuesday, December 24, 2019 — Closed at 2pm
Christmas, Wednesday, December 25, 2019 — Closed
New Year’s Eve, Tuesday, December 31, 2019 — Closed at 2pm

 

WHEN

Sunday, December 8, 2019 (All day)

ORGANIZATION

EVENT LOCATION

Center for Jewish History
15 W. 16th St.
New York, NY 10011

LOCATION PHONE

212-294-8301

MAIN EVENT PHONE

(212) 744-6400

Featured in

Museums & Exhibitions